Well, today really isn’t starting out the bestest of days, but I can handle it. I’ll just show my muscles and sharp little teeth, and anyone who wants to get to me will turn tail and run like a whipped puppy! Oh yes, Ladies and Gentlemen!


See, this is what music like this does to me. It’s why I normally stick to more subued genres…


I guess maybe I should feel special that I’m so easily infuenced by music…or maybe, everybody is but nobody really talks about it. There’s this one song, Montaña  by the Gipsy Kings, that reminds me of this one afternoon last June so strongly that I couldn’t listen to it for a long time. The memory wasn’t bad, it was just so vivid that it bothered me. A lot of things bother me.


Ha.


The song Walking on Air  by King Crimson is the same way. I love that song to pieces, but I can’t listen to it that often; the chord progression in the chorus gives me chills, and I always feel really strange after that…the same feeling you get when the sun is suddenly covered by clouds.


Well, anyways.


As always, I’m dreading my oboe lessons…why? I have no clue. I always dread them and then it doesn’t go badly at all, and I’m fine until the monday before and I’m scared again.


That makes me think of dreadlocks…


Here, a little treat. Don’t be too mean.


 

I dwell in realms of green and blue.

 

 

I climb a winding stair of green

to reach the dome of brightest blue

of all I see below, I’m queen

although I’m only passing through

 

I reach the dome of brightest blue

and gaze upon the sight below

although I’m only passing through

a sense of longing in me grows

 

I gaze upon the sight below

the world’s alive, and all is green

a sense of longing in me grows

a song I feel I need to sing

 

the world’s alive, and all is green

the winding path, the sunlit lake

a song I feel I need to sing

the sun its leave begins to take

 

the winding path the sunlit lake

to them, at last, I say farewell

the sun its leave begins to take

as down the mountain path I steal

 

to them, at last, I say farwell

and notice where the green things grew

as down the mountain path I steal

what once was green is now grey-blue

 

I notice, where the green things grew

as stars come out, the sun is gone

what once was green is now grey-blue

as twilight’s shroud is coming down

 

the stars come out, the sun is gone

I think upon the greyish hue

as twilight’s shroud is coming down

I dwell in realms of green and blue

 

I think upon the greyish hue

that overtook the stair of green

I dwell in realms of green and blue

and, of all I see, I’m queen.

 

 

Anyways, yes. When I went up the mountains saturday, everything was so green, and coming back down, the sun had set and everything was blue. I found it intruiging…and thought “I dwell in realms of green and blue” and it all went from there.

 

Well, I have matters to attend to. I hope your day is going a little better than mine…but if it’s not, don’t worry. The night comes faster than you think, and “joy comes in the morning”.

One thought on “

  1. hey!  i really liked your poem.  it had such a roll to it…  i know what you mean about being so wildly influenced by music – it happens to me all the time.  sometimes my friends/boyfriend/roommates rag on me about it.  but i think it’s one of my best characteristics!  i hope you have a better day!! – M

Leave a Reply

