My uncle called me this morning; apparently word got around really fast that I was worried about Sunday. Everyone was talking about cancelling, which I told m parents last night was probably the most ridiculous, foolish choice to make in this whole matter. Cancel our Easter lunch-thingy, which we’ve been doing for years, just because I’m afraid my uncle might say something about my hair? Please. I can be shallow and pointless at times, but I really think that would be the epitome of self-centeredness and friviloty. My mom asked if I was prepared for what probably was going to happen; I was. I was also determined to not shy away.


But this morning, at about seven-thirty, central time, he called me. He said he had heard that I was worried about my hair, and thinking about cancelling our dinner, afraid he might say something…Well, he said, I shouldn’t worry, he wasn’t going to say anything. He was the one who was behind on the times, you see; the color I had on my hair was obviously very ‘hip’, just walk into Hot Topic or someplace like that.


I was…well, sort of in shock.


But he then proceeded to tell me how proud he was of me, how everyone he works with is porbably tired of hearing all about Erin and what she’s doing now; since we’ve lost contact with my sister, he said, I’m the only one he has left to crow about.


I’m trying really hard not to cry.


As we said our goodbyes, I assured him that I was not cancelling the dinner…and after we hung up, I just sat on my bed, halfway between shock and excitement, and crying, and laughing. Dearest readers, he’s never, not once said anything like that to me. I could only sit there, and ask God what my reaction was supposed to be, because I didn’t know. I’m still not quite sure.


But anyways, I thought I’d share; maybe you all can be my reactions for me. (ha!)


Did you know, that there’s a woman in the Bible named Noah, too? One of Joseph’s great-great-granddaughters. I might have to use that for a middle name someday.

5 thoughts on “

  1. Hahaha.. I’m listening to Send the Pain Below by Chevelle, and all of a sudden, I hear “I can’t feel my chest!”. lol I forgot thats where that phrase came from. It made me think of you… oh, and be prepared, I’ve been watching a lot of CMT since I’ve been home, I’m coming back with a cd full of country!!!! HAHAHA!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    hey, thanks for leaving me the comment.. that was really cool.. and yea i should talk it out but the only reason its stopping me is because i know they wont be cool with it and i feel like, the whole thing isnt worth losing a friend over, you konw what i mean? but yea.. thanks again for dropping by. =)

  3. wow, that was really nice of him. it always feels good to hear that, especially from someone who never seemed to respect you before. =)
    well i hope u have a really good weekend and easter brunch thing! lol. i’ll t2yl. byz.

Leave a Reply

