I see I’ve lost a subscriber, and a fairly new one, at that.


I was wondering to myself a little earlier, (actually, I’ve been wondering for a week or two) is there something special I’m supposed to do? I mean, really, I appreciate so much those of you who have subscribed to my site, and I usually go to the person’s site and thank them (if there is someone I’ve not done that to, I’m really sorry, and I don’t want you to feel unloved. Thank you from the bottom of my heart) but I’m rather new and inexperienced. Is there someone, some veteran Xanga-er out there that could help me? Thanks again, everyone.

7 thoughts on “

  1. some people simply mention those who have recently subscribed and give a thanks. others (LibraryPrincess) get a little more involved. some people don’t even bother either way. it’s up to you, really. back when i was getting an appreciable number of subscribers, i’d acknowledge them in the latest blog, and the first time i did that, i went back to the beginning and listed everyone.also, losing subscribers sucks, but i’d rather everyone subbing my site comment than to have fifteen (or fifty) silent people.

  2. Well, I used to mention new subs, but then I had a major problem with a stalker who was going to every site I mentioned or that commented, and leaving remarks for me to “find” as I read, so I made my SIR list private and have not said much personally to anyone new. Once in a while now that it’s over I link a site, and once in a while I do a blanket type post to everyone, but most of the ones who read my site know all of the BS that happened.
    Subscribers come and go, I lost 3 one day when I posted that I was in a really good mood and happy for the first time in months, (after the stalking stuff was over…)I still can’t imagine why that offended 3 people, but apparently it did. Go figure.
    Write what you want, for yourself first, and those who like what you do will come, and stay.

  3. “supposed to do?”  This is your space, kiddo.  You write what you want to write and those who can relate appreciate it (as do some like me who just like looking in on a different world).  As for the rest, is this really for the readers or for you?  This is one place where most of us feel free to discard our anxiety about others’ opinions.  I hope you can, too.

  4. Yes, there are lots of ways to acknowledge subbers, if you choose to do so.  Personally, I think it’s best to make the acknowledgement private (via that person’s guestbook or email) or entertaining–if you choose to do it publicly.  If you do it in a way that is interactive or that others can appreciate, you elevate a “formality” or “courtesy” back to the level that makes Xanga special–unlimited individual expression with dynamic and unpredictable interactivity.  I write a poem.  Others list names.  You might dedicate a photo or a quote or a story or something. Think of something you haven’t seen, and have fun with it!  Whatever you do, don’t fall into the trap of obligation.  Subbers come and go, but your enjoyment here is neither limited to nor controlled by the people who pass through your blog.  One more thing–a lot of people “open up” their blog for questions from time to time.  You could invite your subbers to ask you questions and answer a question from a subber every week.  Something like that builds on the interactive nature and firms up your readers’ commitment to you and you to them.
    Good luck and have fun.

  5. People usually find me through other people. I don’t know how that works, but taa-daa! I, and WildCane too, tend to keep out Sites [We] Read kinda short; this allows our listed ones to feel loved (and it also keeps us sane with only a few blogs to visit hehehe). You will, over time, attract your own kinda of crowd. Some people like to chat about what you’ve said, some people ask qustions, some people don’t respond at all and still subscribe. People are funny and you’ll never find two of the same. You could find two Halfs that just happen to have weblogs, but that’s as close as you get. 

Leave a Reply

