Well, everyone, I decided today the car’s name is Gladys. I was rather partial to the name at the beginning, so what with the tie and all between the names I just decided to go with my first choice. Besides, Gladys is what Dr. Perez used to call me, if you’ll remember.


My mother and I are lost. We’ve been completely taken over by nostalgia, which I unwittingly brought upon us when I went on an old-movie-marathon while I was sick Wednesday. I don’t remember what brought on my desire to watch movies taped on a free Disney Channel weekend way-back-when, when we actually had cable–before we moved onto the farm, seventeen years ago this coming Labor Day. I put in Summer Magic on somewhat of a whim, then when I couldn’t find Babes in Toyland I opted for The Parent Trap instead. I was still watching it when I parents came home from work, and we watched The Swiss Family Robinson, which we had taped right after The Parent Trap. Since I had already been through all of our VHS tapes looking for Toyland, I had found Darby O’Gill and the Little People (great movie!)and The Horse in the Grey Flannel Suit.  But, since the movies are all over seventeen years old, Mom and I decided it was time to buy them all-or rather, any we could find–on DVD, using her birthday money from Nana.

7 thoughts on “

  1. yay! this post makes me happy. i love those old Disney movies, especially Bed Knobs and Broomsticks (remember that one?) and Black Beard’s Ghost, plus The Parent Trap, and Swiss Family Robinson. classics. and i can’t believe you know Horse in the Gray Flannel Suit! what a great one.

  2. excellent! gladys was my first choice as well… i look forward to my first ride in your car (i had to be careful how i worded that hehe). and yay for the parent trap!

  3. Yeah, We used to have Blackbeard’s Ghost but I think my sister took it when she moved out. Bedknobs and Broomsticks was one of the ones we bought, too. 🙂 I love the whole Portabello Road song. Best song in the world!

Leave a Reply

