As Paul would say, “I’m starting to feel the pressure”.


So, I walk into church Sunday, and Ginger (youth pastor’s wife) comes up to me and says:


“Shall we get together and rehearse sometime?” (Or something along those lines)


And I say:


“…Rehearse for what…?”


And she says:


“For Dell and Tony’s wedding, I’m singing The Lords Prayer  and you’re playing for me.


And I say :


“Oh.”


You see, I was told before that she was just going to use a track so I wasn’t going to have to accompany her. I am, however, accompanying a man named Dan that I’ve never met before on Ave Maria; the version by Gounod as well as the one by Schubert. I’m also playing something for a prelude–Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring though I haven’t told them that yet. They mostly just told me they wanted a prelude and left me to my own devices to pick which song. Tony asked me Sunday night to play a traditional Korean song (he’s Korean) on the piano. Except–he only has the melody, and I haven’t the skill (nor the desire) to put chords to it. He said I could play just the meoldy, which I refuse to do. I’ll play it instead on either the mandolin, the “Irish Low Whistle” or perhaps even the oboe, or a recorder. I haven’t decided yet. I’ll take them all to church Wednesday night and see which he likes the best. 


Oh, and the wedding is this saturday.


Thanks for the lovely comments about my room. 🙂


  

2 thoughts on “

  1. Anonymous says:

    As a fellow classical musician who also plays many wedding gigs… let me just say, I’ll be praying for you this week, and especially on Saturday!!! 🙂

  2. Ooh, how exciting to play for a wedding…Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring is one of my favorite songs. It’s incredibly hard to play on wind instruments though…nowhere to breathe!! Personally, I’d go for the Irish whistle, but that’s ’cause I’m partial to it…;)

Leave a Reply

