So far all that’s been seen of the sun today is the light buttermilk-and-pink concoction near the horizon. The rest of the sky is a luminous grey–matching the rooftops of the apartment buildings–a tad lighter but no less gloomy than the soon ending night. I do enjoy the “big city” but I miss my Kentucky sunrises. It seems like there was ever so much more color there, even in the winter, even in the bleak greyness of early dawn.

I broke my coffee pot last week while trying to clean it; somehow I was left with a pot with a one-and-one-half-inch hole in the side. I’m not sure what happened–I do know it doesn’t work anymore. In one moment of desperation I did try making coffee without the pot, bending over the kitchen counter with a mug in one hand and a knife in the other; the former I held delicately above the hot plate to catch the coffee, the latter I used to trip the trap-door mechanism under the filter so that the coffee would come out. It was a precarious business, though it didn’t take as long as I thought it would–this morning I am feeling neither so desperate nor so resourceful, and am drinking tea instead.

The recent news around the apartments is that the sell is still going through, presumably in April, though that’s all were allowed to know (by law, apparently). The good news is that should the new owners not want to keep us as a team here there is another property open where we could go. Another nice thing to know is that the regional manager of the company that currently owns our complex likes us so much that she wants to keep us in the company, just move us to another property. Unfortunately the only other two properties they have open are on the south side of the metro area (we are on the north, is case you didn’t know). So, that won’t be happening. It is still very encouraging though. I tend to be overly critical of my own work, so it’s nice to know the regional management thinks we’re doing pretty well.


7 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

