nemo loves the sound of stereolab.

I woke up at four this morning. I was still tired, and wanted to sleep, but everything from a stomachache to the sound of the fan to the faint light peeking through the blinds kept me awake. Finally, at five, I relented and got up, using the lights in the bathroom, then hallway, then kitchen as a safety net from whatever might have been lurking in the shadows. Twenty-two, almost twenty-three years old and I’m still afraid of the dark from time to time. As a child it was Grendel, G’mork and the memory of Mussorgsky’s Night on the Bare Mountain that kept me wary of the dark corners of the world. These days its more of a fear of what my own imagination might conjure up.

The only creature, however, that comes barreling out of the darkness and into to my cocoon of light is the cat, all whirs and purrs and sighs, repeating good morning, good morning, good morning until I pick her up and take her with me while I make coffee. Later she will sit on my lap while I write the story for the online world, listening to my music and watching the silhouettes of the trees appear ex nihilo.

nemo loves the sound of stereolab.

8 thoughts on “nemo loves the sound of stereolab.

  1. I forgot how much I love you. ::smile::Who else would be afraid of Grendel? and good old Modeste Mussorgsky? (which, by the way, my mom tried to forbid me to play in the orchestra… I had to convince her that the harp represented the light of God… ::grin::) That makes me smile so much. You make me smile so much.

  2. Brittany told me a little about what you do there, and I’ve gathered a bit from your posts.  It makes me a bit excited to see where my life will go!  Just gotta keep living in the present, though. 
    But really, it’s been frustrating lately trying to keep up with people and spend time with them.  Perhaps I should try to carve out some more time–I can definitely do a good job of isolating myself if I’m not intentionally seeking out companionship.  I should take a lesson from your cat.

  3. Hey thanks for your comments. By all means share it~  Of course, the Phillips summary of the book…I took from her site, so…but sure! It’s insight folks needs to see/know.  Thanks again & have a good one!

  4. I’m afraid in the dark as well. Especially in the middle of the night.For a second I thought you had written: until I pick her up and take her with me while I make HER coffee. I thought: wow, a coffee drinking cat. 😀

  5. heh, i slept miserably because i was on curlers. and the cat also was overaffectionate to me this morning, when he’s usually entirely indifferent. i think he gets lonely when we’re all asleep.i’ve only kind of seen zoolander, so that’s why it’s not on the list. one of the only parts i clearly remember is david duchovny.

Leave a Reply

