the seeds of time were sown

Last night I dreamed I had auditioned for and was accepted to participate in some grandiose theatre’s presentation of several short well-known ballet excerpts.

I was put on the program for three or four dances, all solo (of course) that apparently I had done the best on during the tryouts.

It wasn’t until some ten to fifteen minutes prior to the curtains rising on opening night that I realized that not only do I, in reality, know nothing about ballet, I also had no idea what the choreography was for the pieces I was supposed to perform.

I balletpanicked when I saw I was the second on the list to dance, and tried to spend my few remaining minutes memorizing this “cheat sheet” of choreographed moves, but only succeeded in ever remembering about five steps, and that was it. The first dance was nothing short of a farce (though I believe no-one noticed but me) but the second was no better, even though I tried to mask my incompetence by “spicing things up” (a.k.a. adding dialogue to the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.)

I woke up in a sweat only seconds before I had to appear onstage a third time, realizing with a groan that you can’t add dialogue to ballets, as ballets are expressly to be performed without spoken words, and I honestly thoroughly savored my relief at the lovely fact that it was all just a dream.

As I thought back on the dream through the morning (as I am wont to do with ones as vividly horrid as this) I realized that I had experienced a manifestation in my sleep of the fear I had felt right before going to bed; fear that concerned my eleven o’clock appointment as a volunteer interpreter with the Good Samaritan Health Center. I worried that I would somehow be unable to interpret something, or all the words would jumble in my mouth and I would be able to speak only incoherent sounds like whrrr and uhhhh.

I feared this, despite the fact that I had already applied for the volunteer position
(I had auditioned for the ballet)
I had been taken on after dropping by for an interview
(They assigned me the dances I was best at)
But yesterday my Spanish was really rusty
(I had forgotten all the choreography)
And I was so worried I’d make a fool of myself
(Like adding dialogue to a BALLET.)

Despite the rather forboding nature of the nightmare, today went fine.

the seeds of time were sown

9 thoughts on “the seeds of time were sown

  1. Anonymous says:

    this was great.i appreciate that other’s fears and insecurities come out in dreams as well.i’m sure if YOU added words to a ballet the audience would find it perfectly acceptable – seeing that you’d probably say something brilliant.

  2. Thanks for your continuing congrats, again 😉 ! Apparently M bragged a lot about his new lawn-mower a few months ago. That’s why they gave us the rabbits: so he won’t have to use it anymore, because they will do it for him. For some reason we keep getting pets as gifts. Two years ago the cats, last year the chickens and now the bunnies. I wonder what our next addition to the petting zoo will be!

  3. “I tried to mask my incompetence by “spicing things up” (a.k.a. adding dialogue to the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.) ” LOLI’m glad your interpreter gig went well though. Whenever I don’t feel prepared enough for something I have dreams of doing plays were I don’t know the dialogue or blocking, or I dream about playing in an orchestra to music I’ve never seen before, so your dream description made me laugh (and is still making me laugh when I think about it). Sorry for laughing at your nightmarish dream!

  4. Hello Mrs. Krans,I like your site that you worked hard to make fancy and elegant. I see that you may have invented ballet with dialogue! I like to write articles about God and religion on my site to help people to really get to know God, especially in these troubled times: 14 “When the good news about the kingdom has been preached all over the world and told to all nations, the end will come.” (Matthew 24:14) (CEV (Luke 11:9-10) I hope you get a chance to look at them.

Leave a Reply

