Coffee in a Teacup, and other ironies.

 I think I can physically feel my
tastebuds changing.

I’ve always loved coffee. This has not
changed. Ever since my sophmore year of college, though, I have been
fiercely loyal to a particular kind of coffee creamer. Not to the
point, mind you, that I would not drink the coffee if the creamer
were not present; I would not, however, enjoy the cup as much as
usual. That much would be certain.

I suppose I worked myself into
something of a rut that fateful year of Higher Education. For Dr.
Eledge’s french class was really not the same if I didn’t have my
steaming cup of no-name coffee complete with my Great Value Amaretto
Flavored Powdered Creamer. (And yes, all those caps are necessary.)

The best combination of all, though,
was to pair the GVAFPC with Millstone’s Swiss Chocolate Almond
coffee. That, dear reader, was as near to heaven as one can get–by
coffee cup, at least. The past couple of years, though, have provided
a challenge for my daily ritual caffeine experience.

The First of the Three Horrors was
this: we stopped shopping at Wal-Mart. Now, Great Value is a Wal-Mart
brand. They didn’t have my GVAFPC at Publix. They didn’t even have
anything remotely close—and believe me, I tried to find it. This
stage of change was a frustrating one.

The Second of the Three Horrors was
this: I found someplace that sells the creamer, and it was good for a
time. But then…something changed. The creamer changed on me. Maybe
the economic crisis caused the packaging company to use different
ingredients. Maybe they changed companies altogether. But it
was…different. Wrong. Either they changed, or I did. In either
case, I am deprived of a long-enjoyed comfort food, and am
heartbroken. Woe, woe, woe!

The Third of the Three Horrors was
this: over Thanksgiving, I bought, for the last time, Millstone’s
Swiss Chocolate Almond coffee. I will, sadly, never buy it again, for
it disgusted me. As with my beloved creamer, either they had
changed…or I had.

Now, I am not the sort of person to
abandon coffee altogether, but I am somewhat depressed by this abrupt
change, and am drinking coffee today out of…a teacup. Time will
tell, I suppose.

Coffee in a Teacup, and other ironies.

3 thoughts on “Coffee in a Teacup, and other ironies.

  1. I have the same thing with tea. For months I’ll be addicted to a particular kind of tea (right now it’s cinnamon honeybush) and then, all of a sudden, I don’t want it anymore. I’ll have two more boxes in the pantry but I don’t drink them anymore.Glad to hear you go through the same thing with coffee.I don’t like powdered creamer though: I’m a half and half kind of girl.

Leave a Reply

