the last day

Today was the last day of Jeremy’s Christmas Break–tomorrow we’re back to 5:30 a.m. alarms and falling asleep practically after we put the big boys to bed. Over the past two weeks, everyone’s schedule has slowly slid later and later until today, the last day, found us waking up just in time to have twenty minutes to get ready for church (and be miserably late as a consequence, because three kids three and under? In twenty minutes? Nope.)

Tonight while we were reading our bedtime stories, Ephraim slipped his arm around my back, leaned over and said, “I love you, Mama.” Then, with excitement: “All of my friends are here in this house! The whole WORLD!” He is so very special.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the New Year, its demand for restarts and resolutions; I’ve been pondering what would be a wise undertaking for me to…take under? Seeing as my resolution for last year was “have a baby” (I cheated) I thought maybe twenty-fifteen deserved a little more effort. (Though what takes more effort than birthing a child, I’m not sure I want to know.)

Then I had an epiphany this evening while nursing last year’s resolution that maybe the wisest thing isn’t to take on something new–but rather to continue to perfect the endeavors I’m currently working toward.

It was a novel thought. No new goals, no promises, no new projects or habits but those which are always with me, demanding my attention, demanding excellence. I let out a sigh of relief right there in the nursery. I suppose it is still a resolution, but a resolving to press on, to continue, not start afresh, which seems so much less demanding. I am still relishing the thought.

So tomorrow morning, I’ll wake up with the sun (or try my best) a press on through the day, every day, my everyday. field-2

the last day

Leave a Reply

